See what's going on in Warsaw during your stay in the city.
The Royal Łazienki Museum in Warsaw consists of a palace and garden complex, which stretches within the area of nearby 80 hectares.
The origins of Łazienki date back to the of the 17th century. In 1764 Ujazdów became the property of Stanislaus Augustus Poniatowski - the last king of Poland, who established his summer residence here and gave it its general appearance.
During the partitions of Poland, when the Łazienki were taken over by the tsar’s court, the Belveder was reconstructed and several pavilions, also in classicist style were built.
In December 1944 the Germans burnt the Palace on the Isle, drilling nearly a thousand holes in its walls for dynamite, intending to blow it up. Fortunately, they didn’t have time to do it. After the war the Palace on the Isle was thoroughly reconstructed.
Today, the Royal Łazienki Residence fulfils functions of a museum and the garden, being visited by a throng of tourists from the country and the entire world, at the same time serving as a splendid promoter of culture. The park is not only a must see venue for the tourists, but also the favorite Sunday destination for the Varsovians.
It took over two decades, starting from 1772, to metamorphose the baroque Bathhouse to the classicist Palace on the Isle, with the picturesque southern facade and the monumental northern one adorned with a column portico. The last king of Poland shaped the Łazienki in the classicist style, however, he bestowed upon it an individual hallmark, in accordance with his own aesthetic concept. For this reason it is named the Stanislaus Augustus style.
On the shore of the southern pond, the initially an earthy Amphitheatre with the stage on an island, was replaced in 1790 by a new stone one modelled on the ancient Herculaneum. The stage was enriched by decorations imitating antique ruins of the Forum Romanum, whereas the auditorium was adorned with the statues of famous playwrights mounted on the attic.
The Royal Orangery, erected in 1786-88 on the plan of the rectangular horseshoe, with the southern facade of the core structure broken up by pilasters and arcaded great windows, houses the magnificent interior, ranked among the most notable international examples of authentic 18th-century manorial theatres. The theatre’s interior is made of wood. The auditorium, consisting of stalls and surrounding balconies, is richly decorated with paintings. Walls between the balconies, divided by twin pilasters, are adorned with female statues holding chandeliers. Also the Royal Orangery houses the famous Gallery of Polish Sculpture (XVI – XX c.). It is unique Gallery of this kind in Poland.
Other historic venues located in Lazienki Park:
Every Sunday from May to September at 12 am and 4 pm you can listen to the Chopin concerts that are organized next to Chopin Monument located in the Lazienki Park.
How to get to: